Old Town Hall Museum
Highway 13 in Fifield.
The old Fifield Town Hall served as a government building from 1894 until 1967. It had been built to replace the original hall that was lost in the fire of 1893. Today, this unique building is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It houses artifacts from the logging days of Price County from 1879 through the 1930's. Exhibits include logging tools, camp artifacts, railroad memorabilia, a Victorian period living room and kitchen, a collection of household and personal items and changing exhibits. A gift shop offers books about local and northern Wisconsin history and life.
The Old Town Hall Museum is open June through Labor Day on Saturdays and Sundays, 1-5 p.m. There is no admission charge. For more information or tour reservations, write PCHS, P.O. Box 156, Fifield, WI 54524 or call 715-339-2254 or 762-2559.
Smith Rapids Covered Bridge
Town Lattice covered bridge. Highway 70 east to Forest Road 148,. east of Fifield.
The Smith Rapids Covered Bridge is the only glue-laminated Town Lattice covered bridge in Wisconsin. Constructed in 1991, the bridge uses an attractive diamond-shaped truss pattern, called the Town Lattice. The bridge passes over the South Fork of the Flambeau River, a popular destination for canoe enthusiasts. Adjacent to the bridge is the Chequamegaon National Forest's Smith Rapids Campground. This rustic campground features equestrian sites for visitors to enjoy the Chequamegon National Forest River Saddle Trail on horseback. Snowmobilers can access the bridge off of Price County Snowmobile Trail #101. The Smith Rapids Covered Bridge is an excellent scenic backdrop which allows snowmobilers to snap memorable photographs of their ride.
For more information, contact the Park Falls District Ranger, USDA Forest SErvice, 1170 4th Avenue South, Park Falls, WI 54552, 715-762-2461.
Round Lake Logging Dam
Restoration of 1878 logging dam | Highway 70 east to Forest Road 144, Pike Lake Region
The Round Lake Logging Dam is one of the last remaining structures of its kind in Wisconsin. It stands as testimony to Wisconsin's lumber boom of the 1800's. In 1992, restoration and reconstruction of the dam began with assistance from the Chequamegon National Forest, the Friends of the Round Lake Logging Dam, the Price County Historical Society, and numerous volunteers. In 1995, the dam was completely rebuilt using the historic timbers and original iron hardware. Only the most deteriorated or missing materials were completely replaced.
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Round Lake Logging Dam allows visitors to acquire a sense of what logging dams were like during the long past era of lumberjacks and rivermen.
For more information about the Round Lake Logging Dam or other recreational opportunities in the Chequamegon-Nicolet National Forest, contact the forest headquarters - Park Falls Ranger District, 1170 4th Avenue South, Park Falls, WI 54552, 715-762-2461, TTY 715-762-5701, or fax 715-762-5179.
Fifield Post Office
National Register of Historic Places, downtown Fifield
Fifield Fire Tower
The Fifield Fire Tower has been selected for long-term preservation and placement on the National Registry of Historic Places. The tower is located approximately 3 miles east of Fifield on Hwy 70.
Chequamegon-Nicolet National Forest
Approximately two-thirds of the Town of Fifield is within the Chequamegon-Nicolet National Forest. The forest is a recreational paradise with its many trails for walking, bird viewing, cross country skiing, atv-ing, snowmobiling, and horseback riding. Fishing is good on the south fork of the Flambeau River that has its start at the Round Lake Dam within the forest.